Skip to content

Intention

September 20, 2011

I started writing this blog and I realized I was falling into the same trap as the last time.  I was writing well (at least to me) and I was being spiritual and relevant.   And honestly, it was crap.  So, let me try this again.

Here is the deal:

I don’t pray.  I don’t think that there is a God or some external agent pulling the strings of the universe to make things happen.  It does not make sense or fit with my world view.

There is a rub, however.  I do believe in the power of intention.  It is quite reasonable to me that our thoughts create the world.  That is the first pair of verses from the Dhammapada:

We are what we think.
All that we are arises with our thoughts.
With our thoughts we make the world.
Speak or act with an impure mind
And trouble will follow you
As the wheel follows the ox that draws the cart.

We are what we think.
All that we are arises with our thoughts.
With our thoughts we make the world.
Speak or act with a pure mind
And happiness will follow you
As your shadow, unshakable.

Thoughts are matter and energy.  And like all matter and energy they can be focus towards a goal.  Matter and energy can be used to make electricity to light, heat, and cool our homes, or it can be used to make bombs.  The effects of the results are rather clear.

It is the same with our thoughts.  They can create positive or negative results.

So, I am experimenting.  Today I made the intention: “My ride home will be calm and enjoyable.”  It was!  All of the songs that came on the radio were just what I like to hear and there were no commercial breaks!  The other driver’s behaved just right and I was not held up by the lights.  Now, I realize this may be a self-fulfilling prophecy or maybe it  put me in the right frame of mind to enjoy the car ride home.  Either way, I had a pleasant experience.

What does all of this mean?  Really, I’m not quite sure, but there seems to be something to it.  If the intentions pan out, then there is no excuse for complaints and failures.  But, perhaps I will learn that my intentions are silly and wasteful.  Maybe I will see the futility in desire and fall blissfully into enlightenment.  And then again, maybe nothing will change at all…but I doubt that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. James Akers, Jr. permalink
    September 20, 2011 1:48 am

    YAY!! Glad you are tweeting again.

    • James Akers, Jr. permalink
      September 20, 2011 1:49 am

      That should have said “YAY!! Glad you are blogging again”

  2. landii tejera permalink
    September 20, 2011 8:44 pm

    i like it 😉

  3. September 21, 2011 2:14 pm

    ok…all together now….good thoughts that Susan’s career as an artist will take off and she will sell a lot of artwork…..

Leave a Reply

